Winner Announced for Firefly Award 2020

Posted on August 13, 2020

by Megan Roseberry

Don’t Blink, written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and illustrated by David Roberts, has been selected as the winner of the 2020 Indiana Early Literacy Firefly Award. This award is presented by the Indiana Center For The Book and is designed to “promote early childhood literacy in Indiana.” According to a recent press release announcing the winning title, “nominated books are chosen for their ability to encourage parents and children to use the Every Child Ready To Read practices of talking, singing, reading, writing and playing together. Caregivers can use the Firefly books as a quality go-to resource for having fun and learning with their young children.”

Over 600 votes were received from 47 Indiana counties this year. Children ages 0-5 were encouraged to select their favorite book from five different titles. 

To view previous years’ winners of the Indiana Early Literacy Firefly Award and to learn more information, please visit

Megan Roseberry

Megan Roseberry

Megan, Community Engagement Librarian, Unicorn Fanatic, The Most Sparkly Librarian – any of these titles will do. When not bringing the Van Halen to early literacy classes or spreading the joy of reading to youngsters throughout the community, one can find her enjoying copious amounts of carbohydrates, binge-watching random television shows and movies, pretending to be a professional photographer, dancing around and singing when no one is watching (okay, maybe when people are watching, too), and thoroughly enjoying life with a never-ending smile!
Translate »