Get a Library Card

Library Card, Illustration

Your library card gives you access to thousands of books, DVDs, and music CDs available to check-out and enjoy. It also allows you to use the library 24/7 with our digital collections.

To get a library card, residents of La Porte County can bring in a Driver’s License or Picture ID and proof of address, like a utility bill, to any of our locations. Youth accounts require legal guardian or parent information.

Here are the different library card types:

Adult

Adults (ages 18+) can borrow all library materials.

Youth Limited

Youth (ages 6-17) can borrow materials in youth collections including DVDs.

Youth Unlimited

Youth (ages 6-17) can borrow all library materials.

Preschool

Children (ages 0-5) can borrow books intended for reading and sharing with an adult. These accounts do not accrue overdue fines.

Starter

Adults and youth who do not have full proof of identity or address can open this account and borrow three items. The card will be upgraded to full access once all required identifying information is provided. Starter cards expire two months from open date.

Reciprocal Card

We can also serve other La Porte County and Indiana residents in good standing at their home library even if they are outside of our service district. The Library has local agreements with: Wanatah (Cass township), , Michigan City (Michigan Township), Westville (New Durham Township), and New Carlisle libraries. The Library partners with other statewide libraries as well. Not sure of your service district? You can enter your address here to find out or contact the Library for more information.

PLAC

This is for those who live outside the La Porte County Public Library taxing district and are not eligible for a Reciprocal Card. You may obtain a Public Library Access Card (PLAC). To obtain a PLAC, you must already have a valid Indiana library card in your home library district and pay the $65.00 fee. PLACs are valid for one year from the date of issue. Individuals are required to have proof of identity. Borrower will be able to check out all circulating material types.

Fee Card Customer

A fee card is for a customer who does not live or own property within La Porte County whose library district does not participate in a reciprocal borrower agreement or lives out of the state and wishes to use the La Porte County Public Library System. Individuals are required to have proof of identity. Borrower will be able to check out all circulating material types. The fee for this card type is $50.00.

Lost or stolen card: You should report a lost or stolen library card to the library immediately by calling 219-362-6156. You are responsible for items checked out on your card. You can get a replacement at any location for a fee of $2.00.

Not sure of what card you need? No problem! We will be happy to help. Please call any of our locations during open business hours.

LPCPL Logo
La Porte County Public Library

Phone: (219) 362-6156
Email: help@laportelibrary.org

Stay connected and subscribe to our monthly newsletter!

Copyright © 2019 La Porte County Public Library. All right reserved.

Designed by Duneland Media

Privacy Policy
Translate »
Need Help?
close slider