ALA Youth Media Awards

Posted on March 15, 2021

by Jenny Minich

Want to catch up on the newest high-quality books and media for youth? Check out one of the 2021 ALA Youth Media Award winners from your local library! The ALA awards guide parents, educators, librarians and others in selecting the best materials for youth. These awards are selected by committees of librarians and other literature and media experts. 


John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature: 

When You Trap a Tiger,” written by Tae Keller



Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

We Are Water Protectors,” illustrated by Michaela Goade



Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award:

Before the Ever After,” written by Jacqueline Woodson



Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults: 

Everything Sad Is Untrue (a true story),” by Daniel Nayeri



Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latinx illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat,” illustrated and written by Raúl Gonzalez



For more information and a complete listing of the ALA youth media awards for 2021, visit ALA Youth Media Awards.

Jenny Minich

Jenny Minich

Jenny stays up-to-date on the newest tech for kids and teachers, and her favorite days at work are STEAM Camp days. She likes all the stuff your grandma probably likes – genealogy, DIY, and Midwestern resourcefulness. Jenny lives on a farm with her husband, their 2 teenage children, and an unofficial petting zoo.
Translate »