2016 Youth Media Award Winners

14 Jan 2016 Youth Media Award Winners

The 2016 Youth Media Awards were announced this week. Books that receive these awards often become classics. Many awards are granted during this ceremony, but the top announcements are the Newbery, the Caldecott and the Printz. Each of these awards recognizes excellence in a specific category of youth literature.

The John Newbery Medal was given to Matt De La Pena’s “Last Stop on Market Street”. This charming story follows C.J. and his grandmother as they ride a bus through the city. The Newbery recognizes an outstanding contribution to Children’s Literature.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal is given to the most distinguished American picture book for children. The 2016 winner of the Caldecott is “Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear”, a sweet retelling of how Winnie the Pooh came to be a beloved character.

The Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in Young Adult Literature was given to author Laura Ruby for her book “Bone Gap”. The only witness to a grisly crime in a small Midwestern town faces ridicule when he has trouble identifying the suspect.


Each of these titles is available at the Library. You can see the rest of the Youth Media Award winners and check out the honorable mentions in this article.